Biography


Well,  I will try to keep this simple. If you want a detailed career bio, go to my resume page.
I am intending to just giving a brief run-down of my life history.

I was born in Las Cruces, New Mexico. I was there for one week before moving to California. My mom was from Montana, and my dad was from New Jersey. I grew up in San Diego, California, in a town called Vista. I had a really cool childhood. My hippie parents tried to expose me to many different things, and I had many interesting and educational experiences. I went to an "alternative" private school that encouraged creativity and individuality. My parents got divorced when I was 12 or 13. Then I entered public school as an outsider, and went through the typical teasing and isolation that many kids go through. High school wasn't too fun for me, but I did well in school, and graduated. I then went to college at Humboldt State University. I used this as a new start, and made many new friends. I had the typical party experiences in college and had a good time. I had no idea what I wanted to do, but decided I did not want to work at a job I did not enjoy, as I had worked at many manual labor and construction jobs during high school and college, and did not want to end up in a job like that. So I got a degree in film production, and figured I would end up doing job related to film or tv or video production. Even if it was a lame job, it would probably be more interesting than most other jobs I saw people doing. Luckily, it worked out that I got a job editing videos, and eventually worked up to doing visual effects in movies. It was more luck than hard work. But I did put in a lot of years at low-paying positions, doing boring stuff, before finally getting into a job I enjoyed. My career is always up and down. Sometimes the business is good, and sometimes it is bad. So I am sometimes out of work. Other times I am working 7 days a week, 14 hours a day. A nice balance and some stability would be nice. But I suppose that is not a bad trade-off for doing a job most people would love to have. But I have been living in LA since college, and am pretty used to it. When I am not working, I am doing all the stuff you see on this webpage... Surfing, going to rock shows and concerts, going dancing at clubs, playing paintball, going out with friends, reading books, writing, snowboarding, doing art, making music, doing photography, building models, doing web stuff, playing computer games, riding motorcycles, racing cars, and generally doing anything that looks like fun. I want to do more traveling as well. But I like my life so far. It has had good times and bad. But I am pretty happy with all the things I have done so far. I feel I have lived a pretty great life already. If it keeps up at this rate, I will be very pleased.